Sunday, July 24, 2011

Winners in This Year's Tour de France

Official Winners
Cadel Evans - yellow jersey (GC)
Mark Cavendish - green jersey (Points)
Sammy Sanchez - polka dot jersey (King of the Mountains)
Pierre Rolland - white jersey (Best young rider)
Garmin-Cervelo - team classification

Unofficial Winners
Thomas Voeckler for tenaciousness
Johnny Hoogerland for unbelievable toughness
The country of Norway for four stage wins from two riders in the race
George Hincapie for tying the record for most TdFs ridden (16) and for being on the GC winning team for the ninth time
Jeremy Roy, Mikael Delage and the FDJ team for attacking virtually every single day
Race doctors for heroic work in patching up 90% of the peloton during the first two weeks
American-based cycling teams (BMC, Garmin-Cervelo, and HTC-Highroad) for dominating the race
Anti-drug agencies (apparently) (see here)
Australia for its first ever GC winner in the TdF
The UK for its first ever winner in the TdF's points classification 
All of us who got to watch one of the most interesting and competitive TdFs in many years 

Any other nominations?

No comments:

Post a Comment

I actively moderate comments for spam, advertisements, and abusive or offensive language.